The Forest Stewardship Council runs a global forest certification system with two key components.

Forest Management

Forest Management Certification, which makes sure that the forest is managed to high standards covering social, environmental and economic issues.

Chain of Custody

Chain of Custody certification, which traces the wood from those forests through all stages of processing and distribution. Chain of Custody certification from forest to end-user ensures that FSC materials and products have been checked at every stage of processing so that customers purchasing FSC labelled products can be confident that they are genuinely FSC certified.

The 10 Forest Stewardship Council Principals

Compliance with Laws and FSC Principles

To comply with all laws, regulations, treaties, conventions and agreements, together with all FSC Principles and Criteria.

Tenure, Use Rights and Responsibilities

To define, document and legally establish long-term tenure and use rights.

Indigenous Peoples’ Rights

To identify and uphold indigenous peoples’ rights of ownership and use of land and resources.

Community Relations and Worker’s Rights

To maintain or enhance forest workers’ and local communities’ social and economic well-being.

Benefits from the Forest

To maintain or enhance long-term economic, social and environmental benefits from the forest.

Environmental Impact

To maintain or restore the ecosystem, its biodiversity, resources and landscapes.

Management Plan

To have a management plan, implemented, monitored and documented.

Monitoring and Assessment

To demonstrate progress towards management objectives.

Maintenance of High Conservation Value Forests

To maintain or enhance the attributes which define such forests.


To plan and manage plantations in accordance with FSC Principles and Criteria.

For more information about the Forest Stewardship Council please visit them at

Back To Top